Stacking Functions Garden

Recipe: Leftover Oatmeal Pancakes

11 Comments

I’ve been exploring leftover oatmeal recipes. Leftover oatmeal muffins were not a big hit, so last week I tried pancakes. I wanted a recipe that was more like oatmeal than pancakes, so I searched for one that called for more oatmeal than flour.  This one worked out great.  Here’s the original recipe; my version is below.

Leftover Oatmeal Pancakes
around 2 c. leftover oatmeal
1 c. whole milk
3-4 T. butter
2 eggs, lightly beaten
3/4 c. flour
2 tsp. aluminum-free baking powder

Place the butter in a frying pan over low-med heat. Meanwhile, incorporate milk into leftover oatmeal until the lumps are mostly worked out. Add eggs, flour, and baking powder and stir, adding a bit more flour or milk until desired consistency.

When the butter’s all melted, pour it into the batter. Stir quickly while you pour, so you don’t cook the eggs. Now your pan is hot and buttered and your batter is ready.  Pour the pancakes in.  These were a bit more delicate than standard pancakes — they did best when I let them cook at least 3-4 minutes per side over lower heat.

Don’t they look marvelous?  I loved these.  If the leftover oatmeal that you use was sweetened, they need very little topping.  If it was plain, a bit of fruit or maple syrup would be lovely.  They look like a pancake, but the inside is creamy rather than cakey.  I loved them.  Rowan loved them.  Anneke said they were just OK, but she ate all of hers anyway.

People with texture issues might not be into a creamy-centered pancake. But if this sounds good to you you’ll probably like it.  If not, there are a lot of recipes out there that produce a more cakey result — think less oatmeal and more flour.

This made quite a few; we had them for breakfast and then I froze another entire breakfast’s worth and ate them a few days later.

11 thoughts on “Recipe: Leftover Oatmeal Pancakes

  1. Pingback: Happy pancakes | f00dventures

  2. What a good idea! Must try this one – I know I can cope with the texture, and will see what my kids think.

  3. Pingback: Pickled Rhubarb and Recipe Roundup « The Heavy Table – Minneapolis-St. Paul and Upper Midwest Food Magazine and Blog

  4. Keep up the GOOD WORK!
    I like to add chia seeds, 1T. and almond slivers and sometimes crumbled bacon and/or chopped apples.

  5. you can add cottage cheese to the recipe too for some protein

  6. These are so awesome and simple!! Made these for the first time when I was trapped inside during a weekend blizzard. I’ve made them a few times now and added cinnamon, cardamom and raisins. Thinking peanut butter and banana might make a nice flavor combo too. And can’t wait for blueberry season to arrive so I can try fresh blueberry oatmeal pancakes! This is a really great basic recipe with so many ways to play with flavor combos.

  7. Hey, thanks azimamassage! This recipe is three years old now and we still make it all the time, too. It’s really stood the test of time for us. I love your idea of cinnamon, cardamom and raisins. OK I’m going to make oatmeal tomorrow so I can make these the next day. 🙂

  8. Has any one froze these?

    • I freeze these and other pancakes all the time and then reheat them in the toaster oven. Works great! I have a rule about making waffles or pancakes or basically any baked good: ALWAYS double the recipe and freeze at least half for later.

  9. These are great. I added cinnamon, brown sugar and vanilla. They are good even without syrup.

  10. Found this recipe on Pinterest and it worked like a charm! I often get stuck with leftover oatmeal and like you I tried muffins (tried cookiees too) and nothing was well received. This recipe is great as it is quick and uses pantry staples, the kids didn’t even know they were eating leftovers.
    Thanks!

Leave a comment