The New Home Economics

Recipe: creamy jalapeño dip

4 Comments

I wanted to call this post “the most magically delicious chip dip EVER OMG” but Adam thought that was silly and definitely not search engine optimized. Added bonus: this dip has only TWO ingredients.

Creamy Jalapeño Dip

In a small bowl, combine equal amounts of:
pickled jalapeños
sour cream

So, first of all: you have to get yourself some pickled jalapeños.

pickled jalapenos

A few weeks ago I picked a large number of large red jalapeños from my very generous mother-in-law’s garden. I sliced and seeded them (along with some banana peppers from my own garden), put them in a mason jar, covered with a salty brine (scant 1 T. salt : 1 c. water), and let them sit on the counter for several days, tasting every day. When they started tasting more pickled than salty, I transferred them to the fridge. So little effort, and they make everything from pizza to tacos to sushi amazingly good. I think I may replace my classic stand-by banana pepper recipe.

Anyway, mix chopped peppers with high quality sour cream. (I like Kalona Super Natural.) You might want to stir in a teaspoon or two of the brine to get a good consistency. And truly, that is it. The fat in the sour cream mellows the spiciness of the peppers to a perfect level (for this Minnesotan, anyway).

jalapeno chip dip

The red peppers really give this a holiday feel, no? I’d love to imagine serving this at Christmas, but there is not a chance that we’ll have any of these pickled lovelies left by then.

4 thoughts on “Recipe: creamy jalapeño dip

  1. Sounds and looks absolutely divine! Something this simple is just begging to be enjoyed too!

  2. Pingback: Pretzel Skulls and Recipe Roundup « The Heavy Table – Minneapolis-St. Paul and Upper Midwest Food Magazine and Blog

  3. And here I’ve been tossing the red ones in the compost pile. 🙂 I’m going to have to go check what’s left of our garden for some red jalapenos. Matt would like this along with his salsa. I on the other hand, do not have his taste for super spicy foods. Have you ever tried Cheddar Jalapeno bread? That’s pretty good too.

  4. It could only be magically delicious if it had Lucky Charms in it, which luckily, it does not. Needless to say, the simplicity of this appeals to me greatly. Home-pickled peppers are one of those pantry secret weapons, so much potential there. And I love dip. All good~ Brett

Leave a Reply

