The New Home Economics

My backyard canvas

Leave a comment

Adam cleaned out the gutters this weekend, and as long as he was risking his life up on the roof anyway I asked him to take a few pictures of the yard. I sewed them together in Photoshop to create a visual map of our yard. It’s not perfect, but still interesting. Click to enlarge:

backyard2009fall-thumb

The area highlighted in yellow is the area I’d like to figure out this winter.  It is relatively sunny, but I’m not sure it’s sunny enough. Most of it is shaded by the house through the morning hours, then by the trees to the west in the late afternoon hours.  It gets solid, really hot sun from 1-3 p.m. at least.  I am going to need to do some careful measuring to determine what I can realistically plant here.

Also, from a landscaping point of view, we need to have access to the electric meter, the window wells, the A/C unit (currently non-functional), and the outside faucet.

My wish list for this area includes a dwarf fruit tree, such as a cherry.  Then some nice fruit bushes such as gooseberry and/or currant.  I also have quite a few perennial vegetables I’m interested in trying.  I have the whole winter to dream and scheme, and now here’s my canvas.

Leave a Reply

