The New Home Economics

CSA: week 1

1 Comment

csa61109A

Yesterday our first CSA box arrived!  We decided to split a share of Food 4 Thought CSA with our next-door neighbors.

Things that are cool about Food 4 Thought:
1. They deliver to your door (only in Mpls)
2. They get produce from 3 different farms, minimizing your risk
3. Fruit is included!  (YAY!)

For those of you who are new to this stuff, CSA stands for either Community Sponsored Agriculture or Community Supported Agriculture.  I’ve seen it both ways.  But the basic gist is: you pay a fee to own a “share” of a farm’s crop for a season.  You take on a small risk of crop failure.  In return, you get fresh produce, directly from the farmer, right when it’s at its peak.  Google Community Supported Agriculture and you can read for hours about it if you like.  Or Wikipedia’s entry is pretty good too.

I will post every week to report what we got in our box.  It should be a great primer on seasonal eating.  So without further ado, our box for June 11, 2009 consisted of:

csa61109B3 heads of lettuce (different varieties), 2 bunches of spinach, 1 large bunch of savoy, 2 bunches of radishes, 2 bok choys, and some (!) parsnips.  I am really curious to know how those parsnips came to be… are they from last year, over-wintered?  I know its been done.  Or did they start them inside from seed in like January and plant them in March?  I may have to do a “farm visit” to get these burning parsnip questions answered.

Here’s what our share looked like (after giving half to the neighbors):

csa61109CI am really glad we decided to do the halfsies thing.  With our garden and everything, we would be overwhelmed by that much produce.  I do still work a 9-5 job, ya know.

One thought on “CSA: week 1

  1. I also get a CSA half share from Food 4 Thought – I was really impressed with the volume and quality of the produce. I do work full-time and it is just my husband and me so my adult daughters get a good share of the box. I am looking forward to next week and yes, a major advantage for me was that the produce was delivered to my door! (In Richfield) – great service.

    It was fun to see Food 4 Thought highlighted in your blog…..

Leave a Reply

